Rural Teacher of the Year

The Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance (WiRSA) Board of Directors established this award to recognize a teacher who has made significant contributions to his/her rural school district.

To be nominated you must be a teacher in a WiRSA member school district.

Award winners will be selected by the WiRSA Board of Directors Executive Committee.

The WiRSA Rural Teacher of the Year will be an automatic finalist in the National Monsanto Fund Rural Teacher of the Year competition coordinated by the National Rural Education Association.


2016 Rural Teacher of the Year Award Winner

Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance (WiRSA)

2016 Rural Teacher of the Year Award Winner

Penny Ramos | Juda School District

Penny Ramos was honored by the Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance (WiRSA), a non-profit organization that is dedicated to helping address challenges faced by rural school districts, at the annual Rural Schools Conference on November 10, 2016.

Penny Ramos is a 1984 graduate of the Juda School District.  She attended the University of Wisconsin Whitewater for education.  She came to the Juda School District in 1991.  She taught many different grade levels and “looped” with one class for several years.

Mrs. Ramos is a lead teacher in the elementary and in the District.  She is highly respected by the staff and they listen to her and go to her for advice.

Although she is an amazing lead teacher, her real strength is in the classroom.  She is knowledgeable about the subject matter she teaches and the developmental level of the students.  She is organized, engaging and is always trying to stay abreast of the best practices in the education field.  This year Mrs. Ramos and the fifth-grade teacher are sharing students for different subjects.  This required a lot of discussion and planning to best meet the needs of the students.  In the past two years, Mrs. Ramos has had several students who have come in to her classroom that struggled in other districts.  Mrs. Ramos welcomes them, makes them feel included in the classroom and in the school.  She works on the academic and social skills that the students need to be successful.

Mrs. Ramos is an amazing educator, community member and staff member.  The Juda Community is blessed to have her in our school and community.

This state award qualifies Mrs. Penny Ramos as a semi-finalist for the National Rural Education Association Teacher of the Year Program.

The Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance was formed to help rural school districts address the unique issues that affect rural schools as they seek to achieve the highest quality education for every student.  Members include a cross-section of administrators, educators, school board members, post-secondary representatives, rural community members, business leaders, and other concerned individuals who want a strong voice for rural education.