Contact Information

Kim Kaukl
Executive Director
Phone: (608) 553-0689

About the Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance

The Wisconsin Rural Schools Alliance (WiRSA) is more than our state’s heritage; it’s home to almost 44% of the state’s 860,000 public school students. Rural schools share the same responsibility to the community as their suburban counterparts—to prepare all students for successful futures in a globally competitive marketplace.

WiRSA was formed to help rural school districts address the unique issues that affect rural schools as they seek to achieve the highest quality education for every student. Our members include a cross section of educators, school board members, rural community members, business leaders and other concerned individuals who want a strong voice for rural schools.

WiRSA strives to meet the unique needs of rural schools throughout the state. As such, our site is designed to be a central source for news, events and pertinent resources related to the issues faced by rural educators.

Supported by the Wisconsin Cooperative Education Services Agency (CESA) districts, the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, the UW System and rural school districts, our aim is to continually enhance and improve rural school education.

Executive Board

President — Ken Kasinski, Agency Administrator, CESA 12

Past-President — Jeremy Biehl, Agency Administrator, CESA 5

President Elect — Robert Smudde, Superintendent, Ithaca

Secretary — Diana Bohman, Regional Library Rep, Amherst

Treasurer: Jerry Walters, Agency Administrator, CESA 11


Board of Directors

  • Bob Beaver — Mid-State Tech College Board
  • Jeff Hicken — Agriculture Consultant, DPI
  • Bob Houts — District Administrator, Owen-Withee
  • Chuck Keller — Teacher, Weston
  • Julie Kodl — Business Education Teacher, Owen-Withee
  • Guy Leavitt — Agency Administrator, CESA 4
  • Leah Luke — Teacher, Mauston
  • Ben Niehaus — Superintendent, Florence
  • Rick Pedretti — Board Member, De Soto
  • Fred Reckling — Board Member, Portage
  • Christine Reynolds — Board of Education Member, Seneca
  • Ed Schmidt — Board Member, Athens
  • Carri Traczyk — Board Member, Chetek-Weyerhauser
  • Rick Waski — Superintendent, Adams-Friendship
  • Fred Yeo — Dean, College of Education, UW-Oshkosh